EXTERNAL RESOURCES
The following resources are in no way an exhaustive list and more information is added as it is found.
Below are some career resources you may find useful:

CAREER PLANNING

Career Search - https://www.onetonline.org/
Career Assessment - https://www.cacareerzone.org/
Career Planning Process - http://www.careercentre.dtwd.wa.gov.au/CareerPlanning/Pages/CareerPlanning-4StepPlanningProcess.aspx
Developing a career plan - https://www.livecareer.com/quintessential/career-plan
World of Work map - http://www.act.org/content/dam/act/unsecured/multimedia/wwmap/world.html

RÉSUMÉ & COVER LETTER

Writing A  Resume - http://www.gcflearnfree.org/resumewriting
Sample Resumes - http://www.careeronestop.org/ResumeGuide/MoreSampleResumes.aspx
How to Write a Resume: A Step-By-Step Guide [+30 Examples] - https://uptowork.com/blog/how-to-make-a-resume
Step-by-step guide to writing a cover letter - https://uptowork.com/blog/how-to-write-a-cover-letter

 

JOB / INTERNSHIP SEARCH

Job Searching Help - http://www.gcflearnfree.org/jobsearchandnetworking/find-a-job-online/1/
Words of advice from a recruiter - http://profilescaribbeanhr.com/2016/04/27/the-candid-recruiter/
Employability Skills -
http://www.youthcentral.vic.gov.au/jobs-careers/planning-your-career/employability-skills
Caribbean Jobs - www.caribbeanjobs.com
Favio Barbados -
https://www.facebook.com/FAVIOGROUP/

Job Seekers International - http://jobseekersinternational.net/
Caricom Skills Certificate - https://bac.gov.bb/Services/SkillsCertificate/
UK Visa - https://www.gov.uk/browse/visas-immigration/work-visas
Canadian Embassy - https://www.migrationexpert.ca/canadian-embassy/barbados
How to Optimize Your LinkedIn Profile to Get More Jobs - https://uptowork.com/blog/optimize-your-linkedin-profile
The World Bank Programs & Internships - Click here
Caribbean Internship Project (CIP) - https://www.mona.uwi.edu/socialwork/caribbean-internship-project​

 

INTERVIEWS

Interview Preparation - http://www.youth.gc.ca/eng/topics/jobs/interview.shtml
Interview Guidelines - https://nationalcareersservice.direct.gov.uk/advice/getajob/interviews/Pages/default.aspx
Interview Tips - http://www.careeronestop.org/jobsearch/interview/interview-tips.aspx
Guide to answering common interview questions - https://uptowork.com/blog/job-interview-questions-and-answers
 

SKILL DEVELOPMENT

Learn a foreign Language
Cave Hill Language Department - http://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/fhe/lll/modern-languages.aspx
Venezuelan Institute Of Culture & Co-operation - Grand View Rockley Christ Church [426-1051]
Alliance Française de Bridgetown - https://www.facebook.com/alliancefrancaisedebridgetown/
 
Learn Data Science
Applications of data science - http://www.mastersindatascience.org/industry/
List of possible careers - http://www.mastersindatascience.org/careers/
 

PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS

The Barbados International Business Association - http://biba.bb/students-corner/
The Institute of Chartered Accountants Barbados - www.icab.bb
The Barbados Chamber of Commerce - http://www.barbadoschamberofcommerce.com/
Human Resource Management Association of Barbados Inc. - http://www.hrmab.org.bb/

Barbados Entrepreneurship Foudation - http://www.barbadosentrepreneurshipfoundation.org/
Barbados ICT Professionals' Association - http://barbadosict.org/
Barbados Manufacturing Association - http://bma.bb
Youth Affairs - http://youthaffairs.gov.bb/

 
 

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATION

CFA - https://www.cfainstitute.org/
ACCA -www.caribbean.accaglobal.com
CPA - www.cpacanada.ca

GENERAL RESOURCES

Barbados Labour Regulations - https://labour.gov.bb/index
Barbados Network Consultation - http://barbadosnetwork.foreign.gov.bb/
Barbados Employers Confederation - http://barbadosemployers.com/
The Young Leaders of the Americas Initiative (YLAI) - https://ylai.state.gov/about-ylai/

 

The Office of Student Services
Tel.: (246) 417-4165/6/7 Fax: (246) 424-5348 | Email: studentservices@cavehill.uwi.edu